MAKEMOVES|MONDAY-ish

This week, I’ve learned that breakdowns are ok…sometimes.

When life is happening at a pace that doesn’t really let you just stop for a second to process all the change & good (or bad) that’s occurring…I’d say there’s a pretty good chance that, without the proper release of all that energy, you will have a little breakdown.

I’m not talking about the the kind that has you convinced those saffron walls have taken on a life of its own.

I’m talking about the kind that has tears streaming down your face…for, what feels like, no legit reason at all.

I’m talking about the kind that has you, simultaneously, fearing for your sanity & laughing at yourself for how ridiculously emo you’re being.  Maybe you have a little emotional hangover the next day.

I’ll be honest, I had major reservations about making this MAKEMOVES|MONDAY-ish so personal because, if you know me, while I’m happy to wear most of my heart on my sleeve…I do a pretty good job of keeping the deeper, not-so-shiny-happy feelings to myself.

But, I don’t know, I guess I feel like we’ve all been there.  And, what makes us so resistant to express those feelings in the first place is that, somewhere along the way, “feelings” became a sign of weakness.

Breakdowns aren’t a sign of weakness or emotional instability or fleeting sanity.  I mean, sometimes they can be, but…Proper breakdowns take courage & faith.

The COURAGE to strip yourself raw, evaluate what changes needed to be made, & rebuild accordingly.

The FAITH to let yourself go, to trust that your sanity will be restored…in a timely manner.

Breakdowns are completely necessary…just every once in a while. Because when your world is changing (for good or bad), it makes sense that you have to change too.  The strength and walls you’ve built in the past need to be re-evaluated & reconstructed for new things.

Breakdown to rebuild yourself better, wiser, stronger.

Have a happy Wednesday!

8 Comments

Filed under inspire, MAKEMOVESMONDAY

8 responses to “MAKEMOVES|MONDAY-ish

  1. So wise my love, so wise.

  2. I love you Dani!! I felt like I had a similar episode over the weekend and I came out of it even more excited to be where I am and where I’m going… Much love Dani. 🙂

    Oh, and here’s something I found on the wall of a porta-potty:
    “Courage is a muscle, exercise it.”

  3. Jeremy

    I love this! Especially since I just quoted that exact Mad Hatter quote yesterday!! Love ya!!

  4. i don’t even know how else to say it but to just say it…thank you for this today. it’s my catalyst to pick back up from my own hard time. 🙂 i couldn’t have had this come a a better time! ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

